Posted in Mental Wellness

Go fast… but go slow…

As a runner in training, I feel like I constantly battle with this quote. Marathon running is not a joke and recently I’m learning – neither is marathon training. I’m not a speed demon. Honestly I’m lucky if I can keep with a 10 minute/ mile pace while running lengthy distances. Which means, a “measly” 17 mile run takes me close to three hours to complete. I repeat – THREE HOURS. That’s three hours of my Saturday or Sunday that I am spending running through streets, staring at houses, and dreaming among the trees. So, needless to say Jimmy Buffett sparked my interest with this particular quote.

“Go fast enough to get there, but slow enough to see.” As exercisers, I think we often focus on the end goal: completing the workout, getting to that desired number of reps, or finishing that race. The real question is – do we enjoy the time it takes to get to that finish line? Yes we watch the road go by as we race through our desired distance, but are we truly seeing what is in front of us? The beauty in nature, AKA the beauty in the journey, can be just as beautiful if not MORE beautiful than the destination or that feeling of completion.

Lately in all of my long runs I find myself thinking… Thinking about what I’m going to do for the remainder of my day, thinking about how  much longer it is going to take me to finish the run, thinking about what I’m going to eat for my meals that day. Then I stop and I begin to see what I’m running past and suddenly, the run flies by before my eyes. Before I know it, 17 miles are over. Being in the moment, even in a workout, makes the time fly. It makes you remember the beauty of what you are doing and the beauty of what is around you. It helps you appreciate all that nature and the world has to offer and remember that the world is much bigger than those 17 miles.

It’s not enough to just look when you workout, it’s important to actually see what is around you. Pay attention to the here and now before time passes you by. Enjoy the journey, not just the destination.

Author:

I'm a New Englander born and bread who has relocated to Pennsylvania for the time being. I love nature and I love fitness. I guess you can call them my two beauties in my life! (Insert pity laughter here!)

Leave a Reply

